It stands to reason that a region as wild as Genuine Montana would have great hunting and those sportsmen lucky enough to visit Central Montana will not soon forget it.  The plains stretching east and north of Great Falls offer some of the finest antelope, deer, and upland bird hunting in the west.  Elk, bighorn sheep, bear and mountain lion are all plentiful in the Rocky Mountain Front, to the west, or in the Little Belt and Big Belt ranges, to the east.  The variation in local terrain makes Central Montana popular with all types of sportsmen and during portions of the season it’s possible to combine big game and upland bird into one trip.

Unlike other western hunting destinations, Central Montana’s low population density and plentitude of remote areas create the perfect environment for an epic hunt, unlike any other destination in the lower 48 states.  Because of the expansiveness of the wilderness areas, guided hunts are the best way to ensure success.  Local accommodations range from luxurious guest ranch cabins to base camping from a mule train.  Pack the camera, the only thing more impressive than the game is the scenery.

Elk in Montana
Outfitter Phone # Website
A Lazy H Outfitters 406-466-5564 http://www.alazyh.com/ 
Avalanche Basin 406-547-3962 http://www.avalancheoutfitters.com/ 
Bear Paw Mountain 406-386-2256 http://bearpawhunts.com/ 
Beaver Creek Outfitters 406-366-2112 http://www.beavercreekoutfitting.com/site/ 
Borderline Outfitters 406-379-2661 http://www.borderlineoutfitters.com 
Central Montana Outfitters 406-781-9061 http://www.centralmontanaoutfitters.com/ 
Chase Hill Outfitters 406-386-2447 http://www.chasehill.com/ 
DeBoo’s Ranch Adventures 406-472-3344 http://deboosranchadventure.com/
Deep Creek Outfitters 406-866-3316 http://www.deepcreekoutfitters.com/ 
DL Elk Outfitters, Inc. 406-468-2642 http://comehunt.com/dl-elk-outfitters/
Flatwillow Creek Outfitter 406-429-5601 https://www.flatwillowcreekoutfitters.com
Ford Creek Outfiters & Dude Ranch 406-562-3672 http://fordcreek.com/2012/index.html 
Fort Musselshell Outfitters 406-670-2629 http://www.fortmusselshell.com/ 
God’s Country Outfitters 406-362-3070 http://www.godscountryoutfitters.com/ 
JJJ Wilderness Ranch 406-562-3653 http://www.jjjranch.com/ 
K Lazy Outfitters 406-932-6793 http://klazy3.com/ 
Klicks K Bar L Ranch 406-562-3551 http://kbarlranch.com/ 
Mark Young Outfitters 406-562-3250 http://www.markyoungoutfitters.com/?p=maps 
McFarland White Ranch 406-632-4868 http://www.mcfarlandwhiteranch.com/ 
Mills Wilderness Adventures of Montana 406-562-3576 http://www.millswildernessadventures.com/ 
Missouri Riverside Outfitters & Lodge 406-468-9385 http://missouririverside.com/ 
Montana Safaris 406-466-2004 http://www.montanasafaris.com/ 
Pigeye Outfitters 406-423-5332 http://www.pigeye.com/ 
Sage Safaris LLC 406-219-4025 http://www.sagesafaris.com/ 
Scapegoat Wilderness Outfitters 406-622-3210 http://www.scapegoatwildernessoutfitters.com/ 
Seven Lazy P Ranch 406-466-2044 http://sevenlazyp.com/ 
Sun Canyon Lodge & Outfitting 406-562-3654 http://www.suncanyonlodge.com/
Tri Mountain Outfitters 406-547-2177 http://trimt.com/ 
Additional Resources
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks